Funky Destination - Funkadelic Stereo Adventures

Regular price
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Funky Destination is an exciting retro-styled funk project formed by Vladimir Sivc, also known as Mr. Louie. Hailing from the town of Osijek in eastern Croatia, early on Louie honed his guitar skills and started developing the funk foundation that would guide his sound. A move across Croatia to near the Adriatic Sea introduced Louie to new friends and encounters with turntables and DJ’ing. All of this came together to create Funky Destination, a full-on ‘party time’ project fusing live, organic instrumentation alongside classic-sounding beats, sending the dance floor into a nostalgic frenzy. 

Funkadelic Stereo Adventures is the latest Funky Destination album for Cold Busted and it fulfills on the evocative title’s promise. The set includes ten blazing tunes that bubble with choppy, wah-wah guitar, swinging drums and percussion, delicious horns and bass lines, and, occasionally, stirring vocals of the soulful persuasion. The album’s opener, “The Ocean Of My Mind”, is a prime example … lovely island-influenced vocals, disco strings, latin-influenced horns, and booming drums all combine for some serious heat. Other highlights include the ’70s soundtrack-worthy “Sweet Of Love”, the hip hop flavor of “The Game Of Shades”, and the gritty high speed chase of “Where Are The Blues Brothers”. Groove no further … you’ve reached your destination.

1. Funky Destination - The Ocean Of My MInd (4:49)
2. Funky Destination - I Got Soul (4:09)
3. Funky Destination - Sweet Of Love (3:42)
4. Funky Destination - The Journey (3:44)
5. Funky Destination - The Game Of Shades (4:18)
6. Funky Destination - Psychedelic Spaghetti (3:43)
7. Funky Destination - Havana (4:40)
8. Funky Destination - Where Are The Blues Brothers (3:36)
9. Funky Destination - Uh Yeah (4:01)
10. Funky Destination - Mr. Brown's theme (3:38)

Releases do not include digital downloads