Pigeondust - Moon, Wisdom & Slackness

Regular price
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Producer and DJ Yuta Yamaoka — better known in the beats world as Pigeondust — resides in Chiba, Japan, and spends his days either flipping through dusty records or pulling samples from these vinyl treasures. “For me, sampling is more like a collaboration,” says Pigeondust. “I could make music from scratch if I wanted to, but by sampling I can achieve something I could never have made by myself.” A member of the EN TOKYO crew alongside Salty and Bugseed, Pigeondust represents a new generation of Japanese beat-makers drawing upon a plethora of global influences to develop a distinctive sound. Ultimately this sound recalls classic hip hop, but with the loose spirit of jazz and a sense of sonic experimentation. Pigeondust’s 17-track album Moon, Wisdom & Slackness — out on the Cold Busted label — exhibits these qualities in spades. The cuts are prime examples of Pigeondust’s meticulous beat construction, fitting the samples, loops, and beats together like pieces of a complex puzzle. “Harps” grabs with its angelic rising tones, lounge-like vibraphone, and hardy rhythm. “A Night Thought” — a collaboration with Sugarloaf on jazzy guitar — feels like a back-alley cruise through midnight Tokyo, while “Mindtrip” pleases with its chopped-up beats and nerdy synthesizer lines. “Family Affair” shows the prominent jazz influence as gentle sax and piano play over a snappy drum loop and vinyl pops, sounding like a lost transmission from another era. There are many other moods to explore — Pigeondust reveals a multi-layered palette on the expressive Moon, Wisdom & Slackness.

1. 1995  01:57
2. Loop  03:03
3. Galacticos1994  01:23
4. Harps  01:50
5. Knowledge  03:11
6. Lives In The Clouds  00:44
7. Here Comes Midnight  01:50
8. Stars.Falling  02:00
9. Mindtrip  03:16
10. Straight Ahead  02:19
11. The Life  01:58
12. Pigeondust & Sugarloaf - A Night Thought  03:17
13. With You  02:11
14. Famili Affair  03:48
15. Knife In A Pocket  02:02
16. Railroad Jam  01:57
17. Pigeondust & Hakobune - Coda  02:51