Mister T. - Funk Around the Sun

Regular price
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Athens, Greece DJ and producer mister T. has readied another ace album for the Cold Busted label -- the appropriately titled Funk Around the Sun LP -- and this one is sure to be in heavy rotation. mister T. is a master of instrumental, soulful, and upbeat dance floor funk, and this album further solidifies this fact. Retro party sounds get the beat-down with a playful attitude in twelve funk-tastic tracks, just in time for summer. It's hard to pick highlights, but here's a few: "Mo Style" has powerful vocals from the '60s era that some may find familiar, but reimagined over funky breaks with rhythmic guitar licks, brassy horns, and soul organs. The horn section comes further front-and-center over the drum spatter of "Dig This," with the addition of humor through a sparingly used vocal sample. Then, in the style of swing, "The Usual" is set to have people twirling about the dance floor in dramatic arms flailing, feet kicking fashion. Delicious stuff, primed and ready for the dancehall.

1. mister T. - Come To Me (3:08)
2. mister T. - Funk Around the Sun (3:55)
3. mister T. - Soulful Session (2:47)
4. mister T. - Practise Hour (4:24)
5. mister T. - Hope Saxes Come Soon (4:25)
6. mister T. - Dig This (3:28)
7. mister T. - Mo Style (4:04)
8. mister T. - Disco Touch (3:47)
9. mister T. - Swing in the Background (4:36)
10. mister T. - Swingin Around (4:15)
11. mister T. - The Usual (3:43)

Releases do not include digital downloads