Lanzo - Omnipotent

Regular price
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Chicago’s Carington Pierre, also known as Lanzo, has bestowed evidence of his cosmic hip hop beatology to the Cold Busted label in the form of a new album, Omnipotent. Previously recording for BLVNT Records and the Natural Sele12 Inch Vinylction label, Lanzo specializes in a style of experimental hip hop that draws from boom-bap, soulful downtempo, and atmospheres that lean toward the celestial. Lanzo and his trusty MPC 1000 have been actively producing since 2008 and Omnipotent confirms his upward trajectory, presenting fifteen tasty sonic morsels that groove in a confident but abstract fashion. 

Highlights include “Comfort Zone” which envelopes a swinging rhythm in dreamy strings, distant voices, and rolling bass, and the odd but appealing “Gutter Balls”, featuring some deliciously drunken synths. There’s also the melancholy quiet storm of “Colours”, “Against The Wall” and its heavily processed beat magic, and the loping sci-fi jazz of “Between Friends”. Omnipotent is a heady listen, displaying textures and swirls that accentuate the sturdiness of its drum beats. Lanzo has provided a distinctive soundtrack that’s ready-made for day blazing or night groovin’.

1. Lanzo - Marianas Web (1:43)
2. Lanzo - Hardware Native (3:42)
3. Lanzo - Comfort Zone (1:30)
4. Lanzo - Caution To The Wind (1:39)
5. Lanzo - Gutter Balls (2:13)
6. Lanzo - Insure This Planet (2:18)
7. Lanzo - Between Friends (2:09)
8. Lanzo - Major (1:57)
9. Lanzo - Against The Wall (2:18)
10. Lanzo - Think & Grow (2:03)
11. Lanzo - Colours (2:28)
12. Lanzo - Brainwork (1:49)
13. Lanzo - Fears Den (1:59)
14. Lanzo - Bump (1:26)
15. Lanzo - Vacancy (1:37)

Releases do not include digital downloads