Samurai Guru - Medosphere (The Atmosphere Of Melodies)

Regular price
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Cold Busted reaches deep into the Los Angeles underground to reveal the compelling beat-maker Samurai Guru and his mind-expanding album Medosphere (The Atmosphere Of Melodies). Deftly meshing boom bap rhythms and soulful lounge musicalities, Samurai Guru has confidently developed his cosmic sound previously introduced through releases on Cult Classic Records and Nekubi Tapes. Thoughtful sample arrangements, spacey embellishments, and proper head-nodding beats typify the eleven cuts that make up Medosphere, with the sequence giving the impression of an audio voyage through the producer’s psyche. Cuts like “Night Cruise” accentuate the boom bap vibe, with some glitchy drum programming thrown in for good measure, while other highlights, such as the dreamy “These Days Seems So Long”, show a wistful, smoked-out side to Samurai Guru’s personality. Snippets of movie dialogue and fanciful interludes give further clues to cracking the album’s secret code. Medosphere (The Atmosphere Of Melodies) signals an introspective sonic expedition worth taking.

1. Samurai Guru - 8AM (Intro) (0:41)
2. Samurai Guru - Night Cruise (2:38)
3. Samurai Guru - Going Away For A While (2:37)
4. Samurai Guru - These Days Seem So Long (3:40)
5. Samurai Guru - Time Heals All (3:36)
6. Samurai Guru - Between You and Me (3:09)
7. Samurai Guru - When It Was A1 (Interlude) (1:46)
8. Samurai Guru - Just Like That Fa'Real (3:00)
9. Samurai Guru - (P&P) Pleasure and Pain (3:37)
10. Samurai Guru - A Devil's Way (1:59)
11. Samurai Guru - A Sad Man's (Interlude) (2:04)

Releases do not include digital downloads