Boogie Belgique - Volta

Regular price
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

As of “Nostalgic, soulful and, of course, boogie-woogie.” That’s how Belgian DJ producer Boogie Belgique (AKA Oswald Cromheecke) describes the enticing combination of styles and sources from different decades that make up his music. Taking vintage inspirations, most notably from swing and jazz eras, and merging them with contemporary beats and textures is the young producer’s forte. This is pleasingly evident on Volta, the latest Boogie Belgique album for the Cold Busted label. 

“Jungle Law” gives a glimpse into Boogie Belgique’s sonic palette. Tough hip hop beats and funky live guitar follow an intro of jungle ambience as a trumpet presents the melody. Soon some swingy big band jazz enters the song in an almost ghostly manner, while the insistent beat keeps the dance floor moving. Album opener “Go Slow” shows a different side to the coin giving the listener an uptempo broken beat rhythm, some bouncy bass guitar, snippets of string loops, and a lovely, forlorn vocal line that echoes the past. It’s a beautiful concoction, and Boogie Belgique delivers on many aspects of this style throughout his eleven track album. Volta is a satisfying trip in an aural time machine. 

1. Go Slow  03:56
2. Need Somebody  04:56
3. Goodnight Moon  04:24
4. Every Time  04:01
5. Volta  04:39
6. Enigma 04:51
7. Jungle Law  05:06
8. Happening Again  04:40
9. Old Song  04:13
10. Taboo  04:13
11. Lights Out  02:16

Listen & Buy: